Review of Council Membership

On 4 July 2000 the Wellington Regional Council resolved that, in terms of section 101H of the Local Government Act 1974, the Wellington Region will comprise the following six constituencies for purposes of the 2000 Local Authority Elections:

- Kapiti Constituency comprising Kapiti Coast District.
- Mana Constituency comprising Porirua City.
- Wellington Constituency comprising Wellington City
- Lower Hutt Constituency comprising Lower Hutt City.
- Upper Hutt Constituency comprising Upper Hutt City.
- Wairarapa Constituency comprising South Wairarapa District, Master-ton District, Carterton District and part of Tararua District.

This reflects the six communities of interest identified by the Council.

Having regard to the population, net equalised capital value and land area of each constituency the Council will comprise 14 Councillors to be elected as follows:

Constituency Name	Number of	Councillor to Population
	Councillors	Ratio
Kapiti	1	1:41,200
Mana	2	1:23,800
Wellington	5	1:33,360
Lower Hutt	3	1:32,700
Upper Hutt	1	1:37,300
Wairarapa	2	1:19,130

A copy of the full report identifying options considered is available on request, together with maps clearly identifying the boundaries of those constituencies.

Any interested person or organisation may lodge an objection to the proposals copies of which can be obtained from the Council. Any objection should be in writing and addressed to The Council Secretary at the Wellington Regional Council PO Box 1 1-646, Wellington. **Objections close on Monday, 21 August** and will be considered by the Council at a meeting to be held on 19 September 2000.