Report 01.352 22 May 2001 File: E/1/4/1

Report to the Policy and Finance Committee from Lloyd Bezett, Policy Analyst

District Health Board Electoral Boundaries

1. Purpose

To inform the Council of the ward boundaries for the District Health Board elections on 13 October.

2. Background

The Governor-General has now put her signature to the Order-in-Council creating the structure for the election of new District Health Boards (DHB) at the Local Body Elections on 13 October. The District Health Boards, each with seven elected and four appointed members, will be elected by the First Past the Post (FPP) method in 2001 and by Single Transferable Vote (STV) thereafter.

Each DHB has been divided into wards to recognise key communities of interest. The boundaries are based on territorial authority and ward boundaries.

Capital & Coast District Health Board	
Kapiti Coast District (excluding Otaki Ward)	1
Porirua City	1
Wellington Lambton Ward	1
Wellington Southern/Eastern Wards	2
Wellington Northern/Western/Onslow Wards	2
Hutt District Health Board	
Upper Hutt City	2
Lower Hutt Northern/Western/Eastern/Central Wards	3
Lower Hutt Wainuiomata Ward	1
Lower Hutt Harbour Ward	1
Wairarapa District Health Board	
Masterton District	4
Carterton District	1

South Wairarapa District	2
Mid Central Health Board	
Manawatu District	1
Palmerston North City	3
Tararua District	1
Horowhenua District (including Otaki Ward)	2

While each DHB will have a Electoral Officer, the Electoral Officers appointed by the territorial authorities will distribute the voting papers and conduct the count of votes. A candidate for election to a DHB must be a resident of the ward in which they are standing.

Tabled for councillors' information is a Ministry of Health publication answering a number of frequently asked questions about DHB and the upcoming elections.

3. Comment

It is interesting to note that, whereas the Local Government Commission rejected this Council's resolution to divide Wellington City into three constituencies, the Minister of Health has approved the division of Wellington City into three wards for district health board elections. The approved three wards have the same boundaries as the constituencies proposed by the WRC.

There are also significant differences in the way in which cities have been treated. Wellington and Lower Hutt have been divide into wards while Christchurch has not.

4. **Recommendation**

That the Report be received and the contents noted.

Report prepared by:

Approved by:

LLOYD BEZETT Policy Analyst Council Secretariat TED MAGUIRE Council Secretary