## Initial proposal

Constituency name	Constituency boundary	Number of councillors	
Wellington Constituency	This constituency boundary is based on the current boundary of the Wellington City Council.	5	
Hutt Valley Constituency	This constituency boundary is based on joining the current boundaries of the Hutt City Council and Upper Hutt City Council.	4	
Kapiti-Mana Constituency	This constituency boundary is based on joining the current boundaries of the Kapiti Coast District Council and Porirua City Council.	3	
Wairarapa Constituency	This constituency boundary is based on joining the current boundaries of South Wairarapa District Council, Carterton District Council and Masterton District Council, and the area of the Tararua District Council that is just South of the Owahanga River catchment.	2	

Constituency	Population	Councillors	Population per councillor
Wellington Constituency	185,200	5	37,040
Hutt Valley Constituency	138,400	4	34,600
Kapiti-Mana Constituency	97,500	3	32,500
Wairarapa Constituency	39,300	2	19,650

