

Report 06.617

25 October 2006 File: E/06/25/02 m:wpdata\min\rlt/06.162pwdoc

Minutes of the Meeting of the Interim Wellington Regional Strategy Committee held in the Council Chamber, Regional Council Centre, 142 Wakefield Street, Wellington on Tuesday 24 October 2006 at 11.03 am

Present

Cr Buchanan, Interim Chairman (Greater Wellington Regional Council)

Mayor Staples (replacing Mayor Francis)

Cr Douglas
Mayor Guppy
Cr Strahan (replacing Mayor Milne)
Mayor Prendergast
Mayor Ogden
Sir John Anderson
Professor Love
Ms Catherine Savage

Greater Wellington Regional Council

(Carterton District Council, Masterton District Council, and South Wairarapa District Council)
(Porirua City Council)
(Upper Hutt City Council)
(Kapiti Coast District Council)
(Wellington City Council)
(Hutt City Council))

In attendance

Mr J. McIntosh (Media Consultant).

Officers Present

Benham, Gray, Davis, Reay and Turfrey (Greater Wellington Regional Council) Blakeley (Porirua City Council) Hart (Hutt City Council) Pedersen (Upper Hutt City Council) Poole (Wellington City Council)

Public Business

Procedural Items

IWRS 15 Apologies

Resolved

(Cr Buchanan/Mayor Prendergast)

That the Committee:

Confirms the apologies for absence from Professor Callaghan, Ms Crossan, Mayor Francis and Mayor Milne.

IWRS 16 Public Participation

No members of the public wished to participate in the meeting.

IWRS 17 Establishment of a Hearings Subcommittee

Report 06.587

Resolved

(Cr Buchanan/Mayor Prendergast)

File: WRS/07/01/02

That the Committee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. *Notes the content of the report.*
- 3. Resolves to establish a subcommittee to hear, evaluate and report on the submissions to the WRS and the Statement of Proposal for its governance and funding and make recommendations to the Committee in accordance with the Terms of Reference in Attachment 1.
- 4. Resolves to appoint the following five Committee members (including a chair) to the WRS Hearing Subcommittee:
 - Cr Buchanan (Chairman)
 - Sir John Anderson
 - Mayor Francis
 - Mayor Guppy
 - Mayor Milne
- *5. The quorum is four members.*

Other Matters

IWRS 18 Questions

There were no questions.

IWRS 19 General

There was no general business

The meeting closed at 11.12 am.

Cr IM Buchanan Interim Chairman

Date: