

Public Excluded

Report PE 07.798 26 November 2007 File: E/06/25/02 m:wpdata/rep/wrs PE07.798pwdoc

Report of the public excluded part of the Meeting of the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee held in the Council Chamber, Regional Council Centre, 142 Wakefield Street, Wellington on Friday, 23 November 2007 at 8.49 am

Matters for Wellington Regional Council decision are shown in bold type and enclosed in a box.

Matters for Information of the Wellington Regional Council are in italic type.

Present

Mayor Brash (Porirua City Council) Mayor Guppy (Upper Hutt City Council) Mayor Rowan (Kapiti Coast District Council) Mayor Ogden (Lower Hutt City Council) Mayor Prendergast (Wellington City Council) Mayor Staples (South Wairarapa District Council) Councillor Wilde (Wellington Regional Council)

Officers Present

Benham, Davis, Reay, and Sangster (Greater Wellington Regional Council) Pedersen (Upper Hutt City Council) Poole (Wellington City Council)

Public-excluded Business

Procedural Item

Matter for Decision

PEWRS 01 Appointment of non-local government members of the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee

Report PE07.755

File: E/06/26/03

(Mayor Staples/Mayor Ogden)

Resolved

That the Committee:

- (1) Receives the report.
- (2) Notes the content of the report.

Resolved

(5)

(Mayor Prendergast/Mayor Ogden)

- (3) Recommends that Council appoint as non-local government appointees to the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee:
 - Sir John Anderson
 - Prof Paul Callaghan
 - Diana Crossan
 - Catherine Savage
- (4) Decides by lot the order in which the non-local government appointees to the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee will resign from their positions.
 - Ask the Chief Executives of the Wellington Region Territorial Authorities, and Ara Tahi, to provide lists of suitable candidates to replace the appointee position vacated by Professor Ngatata Love.

Noted

• Councillor Wilde advised the Committee that Professor Ngatata Love had informed her that he did not wish to be considered for re-election. It was agreed that a letter of thanks be written to Professor Love for his work while he was a member of the Committee.

• The result of the drawing of lots was:

Sir John Anderson to resign from his position after one year.

Diana Crossan to resign from her position after two years.

Prof Paul Callaghan to resign from his position after three years.

Catherine Savage to resign from her position after four years.

It was accepted that this order may change after the election of the Chairperson, as resolved in the public part of the meeting.

- Officers were asked to contact Regional Mayors and Chief Executives, and Ara Tahi, to ask them to provide lists of suitable candidates to replace the appointee position vacated by Professor Ngatata Love.
- The Chairperson of the Committee will be asked to talk to all appointees and remind them of their mandate, and responsibility to the Committee.
- It was agreed that Committee meetings are to occur approximately two monthly in 2008.

The public excluded part of the meeting closed at 9.30 am

Cr FH Wilde Deputy Chair

Date:

Wellington Regional Council – 25 February 2008

To be moved:

That Council

Adopts the public excluded report of the meeting of the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee held on 23 November 2007, Item PEWRS 01.