

Please note that these minutes remain unconfirmed until the meeting of the Regional Transport Committee on 22 June 2012

> **Report 12.221** 28/05/2012 File: E/11/07/03

Minutes of the Regional Land Transport Programme Hearing Subcommittee meeting held in the Council Chamber, Regional Council Centre, 142 Wakefield Street Wellington, at 1.38pm on Monday, 28 May and 10.40am on Friday 1 June 2012

## Present

Cr Wilde (Chair) Ms Chetwynd (absent 1 June) Ms Hayward Cr Foster (1.53pm – 2.46 on 28 May) (Greater Wellington Regional Council) (New Zealand Transport Agency) (Access and Mobility) (Wellington City Council)

# 1 Apologies

Moved

(Cr Wilde /Ms Chetwynd)

That the Subcommittee:

Accepts the apologies for absence from Mayor Leggett and Mayor Guppy and the apology for lateness and early departure from Cr Foster.

The motion was **CARRIED.** 

# 2 **Conflict of Interest declarations**

There were no declarations of conflict of interest.

## 3 **Process for considering submissions on the draft Regional Land Transport Plan** 2012-15

## **Report 12.181**

Moved

File: E/11/07/04

(Cr Wilde /Ms Chetwynd)

That the Subcommittee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the contents of the report.
- 3. Reports its findings and recommendations to the Regional Transport Committee meeting on 22 June 2012

The motion was **CARRIED**.

#### 4 Hearing of oral submissions

A timetable of oral submissions was circulated. There were changes to the scheduled timetable as some submitters did not appear.

Oral submitters were heard in the following order:

Time	Submission No.	Name and organisation
1.40 - 1.44	462	Alastair Smith
1.44 - 1.51	501	Paula Warren
1.51 - 2.01	430 & 445	James Burgess – Cycle Aware Wellington
2.01 - 2.13	190	Hazel Armstrong
2.14 - 2.24	523	Geoff Norman and Brent Blann – Mana Coach Services
2.25 - 2.37	376	Ian Shearer
2.37 - 2.40	40 & 338	Celia Darby
2.40 - 2.46	457	Tim Jones
2.47 – 2.55	455	Brian Wolfman
2.55 - 2.59	466	Atom Emet

#### Monday 28 May

The meeting adjourned at 2.59pm and reconvened at 3.19pm.

3.19 - 3.26	456	Eleanor Meecham
3.26 - 3.40	536	Dr Scott Metcalfe and Dr Russell Tregoning – Ora Taioio NZ Climate Health Council

The meeting adjourned at 3.46pm and reconvened on Friday 1 June at 10.40am.

# Friday 1 June

5 Apologies

Moved

(Cr Wilde /Cr Foster)

That the Subcommittee:

Accepts the apologies for absence from Mayor Guppy, Mayor Leggett and Ms Chetwynd.

The motion was **CARRIED.** 

## 6 Hearing of oral submissions

An updated timetable of oral submissions was circulated.

Oral submitters were heard in the following order:

Time	Submission No.	Name and organisation
10.40 - 10.47	465	Ellen Blake – Living Streets Aotearoa
10.47 - 10.58	431	Anne Hare
10.58 - 11.03	451	Sridhar Ekambaram
11.03 - 11.20	539	Cr Gaylor and Sue Johnson - KCDC
11.20 - 11.29	461	Dr Jan Pearson
11.30 - 11.40	546	Liz Springford
11.41 – 11.47	507	David Wanty
11.47 – 11.52	529	Isobel Cairns
11.52 - 11.59	506	Alan Brown – Great Harbour Way, Te Aranui o Poneke Trust
11.59 - 12.09	367	Martin Napier – AA Wairarapa
12.09 - 12.19	535	Paul Young and Rachel Ward – Generation Zero
12.19 – 12.29	483	Alan Smith – Wellington Civic Trust
12.29 – 12.37	366	Jill Stansfield – Kapiti Coast Older Persons Council
12.37 – 12.43	424	Phaedra Upton

12.44 - 12.54	351	Helene Donaldson – Kapiti Coast Grey Power Association
---------------	-----	--

The meeting adjourned at 12.55pmm and reconvened at 1.10am.

The Subcommittee commenced its deliberations.

#### 7 Report on submissions to the draft Regional Land Transport Programme 2012-2015

**Report 12.210** 

Moved

File: TP/01/16/10

(Cr Foster /Cr Wilde)

That the Subcommittee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the content of the report.
- 3. Agrees to recommend to the Regional Transport Committee the following changes to the draft RLTP, as a result of consideration of submissions:
  - a) Elevate the Petone to Ngauranga walkway/cycleway to second in the list of third priority large new projects to reflect its urgency and importance, as set out in Table 1 below.
  - b) Elevate the SH1 (RoNS) Ngauranga to Aotea Quay Active Traffic Management System above SH1 (RoNS) MacKays to Peka Peka Expressway to reflect its greater importance, as set out in Table 1 below.
  - c) Amend the description of the Mt Victoria Tunnel Safety Improvements project in Table 4 of the final RLTP to clarify what work is involved in this project.
- 4. Notes the strong support for walking and cycling emphasised throughout the submissions and requests officers to emphasise in the final Regional Land Transport Programme that walking and cycling improvements are included in a number of different categories within the programme, in addition to the walking and cycling activity class.
- 5. Notes the changes advised by approved organisations and listed in Table 3, Section 8, and notes that these and any other subsequent changes advised by approved organisations are to be provided to the Regional Transport Committee for consideration on 22 June 2012.

Recommended Rank	Third Priority Large New Projects	
1	Mt Victoria Tunnel - Safety Improvements	
2	Ngauranga to Petone Cycleway/walkway	
3	Adelaide Road Improvements	
4	SH1 Widening of Ruahine Street/Wellington Road	
5	Electronic Integrated Ticketing System	
6	SH1 Inner City Bypass Intersection Optimisation	
7	SH1 (RoNS) Basin Reserve Improvements	
8	Johnsonville Triangle Roading Improvements	
9	SH2 Carterton to Masterton Safety Improvements	
10	SH1 (RoNS) Ngauranga to Aotea Quay Active Traffic Management System	
11	SH1 (RoNS) Mackays to Peka Peka Expressway	
12	SH2 Ngauranga to SH58 Active Traffic Management System	
Note: The WCC project 'Aotea Quay Improvements' which was ranked 4 <sup>th</sup> in the draft RLTP has been removed from the list of third-priority projects above, based on WCC advice that the project will no longer be progressed in the next 3 year period.		

Table 1: Recommended new rankings of third-priority projects

The motion was **CARRIED**.

The meeting closed at 1.45pm.

FH Wilde (Chair)

Date: