Report	13.1008
Date	11 November 2013
File	Z/01/04/19

CommitteeCDEM GroupAuthorBruce Pepperell, Regional Manager, WREMO

CDEM Group Appointments

1. Purpose

To request the Wellington CDEM Group make the following Group appointments and endorsements.

2. Background

The CDEM Act (Sections 15 and 20) authorises Civil Defence Emergency Management Groups (CDEM Groups) to officially appoint Chairpersons and Deputy Chairpersons for both the CDEM Group and the Co-ordinating Executive Group (CEG).

The CDEM Act (Sections 26 and 27) also requires a CDEM Group to appoint, either by name or reference to the holder of an office, a suitably qualified and experienced person to be the Group Controller for its area and to appoint at least one suitably qualified and experienced person to perform the functions and duties, and exercise the powers of the Group Controller if they are absent from duty for any reason. It also states that a CDEM Group may appoint one or more persons to be a Local Controller.

The CDEM Group and the Chief Executives Group (CEG) elects their respective Chairs and Deputy Chairs at the first CDEM Group and CEG meetings following a local government election. The election of a CEG Chair and Deputy need to be endorsed by the CDEM Group.

3. Appointment of Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the Wellington region CDEM Group

Section 15 of the Civil Defence Emergency Management Act 2002 states that: Each Civil Defence Emergency Management Group may appoint one of the representatives of its members to act as Chairperson. The appointed chairperson may hold office for the period agreed by the Group at the time of appointment. Despite the subsection above, the term of office of an appointed chairperson ends if that person ceases to be a representative of a member of the Group.

Following the October local elections the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson will hold office for a term of three years or such a lesser period as may be determined by the CDEM Group. However, if three-quarters of the representatives of the Members present agree the CDEM Group may appoint a new Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson at any time.

4. Appointment of Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the Wellington region CDEM Group's Co-ordinating Executive Group (CEG)

Section 20 (1) of the CDEM Act states, a Civil Defence Emergency Management Group must establish and maintain a Civil Defence Emergency Management Co-ordinating Executive Group consisting of:

The Chief Executive Officer of each member local authority or a person acting on the Chief Executive Officer's behalf;

A senior member of the police who is assigned for the purpose by the Commissioner of Police;

A senior member of the Fire Service who is assigned for the purpose by the National Commander;

The Chief Executive Officer of the hospital and health services operating in the area or a person acting on the Chief Executive Officer's behalf; and

Any other persons that may be co-opted by the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group.

Section 12 of the Terms of Reference for the Co-ordinating Executive Group states the CEG shall elect its own Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson and the term of appointment shall be three years coinciding with each local government triennium unless three quarters of the members present at a meeting resolve to replace the Chairperson or Deputy Chairperson at an earlier time. The term of office of an elected Chairperson or deputy Chairperson end if that person ceases to be a member of the CEG.

5. Co-option of members to the Co-ordinating Executive Group (CEG)

Noting the ability (in Section 20 (1) of the CDEM Act) to co-opt additional people to the CEG, in its meeting of 4 October 2010 the CEG has resolved to co-opt a Lifelines representative as well as a Regional Welfare Advisory Group representative to CEG. The current representatives here are Mr Stavros Michael and Ms Louise Waaka.

6. CDEM Group appointments

The updated list of endorsements and appointments for the Group Controller (and alternates), Group Recovery Manager (and alternate), Local Controllers (and alternates), Local Recovery Managers (and alternates) and the Group Lifelines Utility Co-ordinator are as follows.

Statutory appointments:

Controllers	
CDEM Group	Bruce Pepperell (Group Controller)
	Rian van Schalkwyk (alternate)
	Ian Gunn (alternate)
	Craig Hamilton (alternate)
	Stavros Michael (alternate)
	Anthony Wilson (alternate)

Wellington City	Stavros Michael (Local Controller)
	Neville Brown (alternate)
	Greg Orchard (alternate)
	Jamie Delich (alternate)
	Haydn Read (alternate)
	Paul Andrews (alternate)
	Mike Scott (alternate)
	Robyn Steel (alternate)
Porirua City	Mike Chapman (Local Controller)
	Chris Hopman (alternate)
	Trevor Farmer (alternate)
Kapiti District	Scott Dray (Interim Local Controller)
-	Andrew Guerin (Alternate)
	Tamsin Evans (alternate)
	Alison Law (alternate)
Hutt City	Clive Phillips (Local Controller)
	Matt Reid (alternate)
	Bruce Sherlock (alternate)
	Lachlan Wallach (alternate)
	Richard Harbord (alternate)
	Ian Johnson (alternate)
Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach (Local Controller)
	Richard Harbord (alternate)
	Matt Reid (alternate)
	Ian Johnson (alternate)
Wairarapa	Kevin Tunnell (Local Controller)

Mark Allingham (alternate) Jonathan Hooker (alternate)
Roger Gardner (alternate)
Murray Johnstone (alternate)

Non-statutory appointments:

Recovery Managers	
CDEM Group	Jane Davis (Recovery Manager)
	Tim Porteous (alternate)
Wellington City	John Hutchings (Recovery Manager)
	Warren Ulusele (alternate)
	Peter Brennan (alternate)
	Jane Hill (alternate)
Porirua City	Moira Lawler (Recovery Manager)
	Chris Lipscombe (alternate)
Kapiti Coast District	Stephen McArthur (Recovery Manager)
Hutt City	Kim Kelly (Recovery Manager)
Upper Hutt City	Mitch Lewandowski (Recovery Manager)
Wairarapa	Kyra Low(South Wairarapa) (Recovery Manager)
·	Milan Hautler (Carterton) (Recovery Manager)
	Roger Gardner (Masterton) (Recovery Manager)

Lifelines Co-ordination	
CDEM Group	Richard Mowll

7. Recommendation

That the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group:

- 1. Appoints a Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson for the Wellington region CDEM Group;
- 2. *Approves* the period of appointment of the Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson for the Wellington region CDEM Group to be until the October 2016 local authority elections;
- 3. Notes the appointment of the Chair and Deputy Chair of CEG, names to be advised at the meeting. (Please note the CEG occurs after the agenda for this meeting was finalised);
- 4. *Makes* the following appointments:

- Scott Dray as interim Local Controller for Kapiti Coast District Council;
- Andrew Guerin as Alternate Local Controller for Kapiti Coast District Council;
- Jane Davis as CDEM Group Recovery Manager;
- Warren Ulusele as Recovery Manager Wellington City Council; and,
- Stephen McArthur as Recovery Manager, Kapiti Coast District Council.

Report prepared by:

Bruce Pepperell

Regional Manager, Wellington Region Emergency Management Office