

Report 14.415

Date 12 August 2014 File Z/01/04/19

Committee Civil Defence Emergency Management Group

Author Bruce Pepperell, Regional Manager

Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Appointments

1. Purpose

For the Wellington Civil Defence Emergency Management (CDEM) Group to make CDEM Group appointments.

2. Background

The CDEM Act 2002 (Sections 26 and 27) requires a CDEM Group to appoint, either by name or reference to the holder of an office, a suitably qualified and experienced person to be the Group Controller for its area, and to appoint at least one suitably qualified and experienced person to perform the functions and duties, and exercise the powers of the Group Controller if they are absent from duty for any reason. It also states that a CDEM Group may appoint one or more persons to be a Local Controller.

3. CDEM Group appointments

The updated list of endorsements and appointments for the Group Controller (and alternates), Group Recovery Managers, Local Controllers (and alternates), Local Recovery Managers and the Group Lifelines Utility Co-ordinator are as follows.

Statutory appointments:

Controllers		
CDEM Group	Bruce Pepperell (Group Controller)	
	Rian van Schalkwyk (alternate)	
	Ian Gunn (alternate)	
	Craig Hamilton (alternate)	
	Stavros Michael (alternate)	
	Anthony Wilson (alternate)	

WGN-DOCS#1394140 PAGE 1 OF 3

Wellington City	Neville Brown (Local Controller) Haydn Read (alternate) Jane Hill (alternate) Karyn Stillwell (alternate)
	Geoff Swainson (alternate) Simon Fleisher (alternate)
Porirua City	Mike Chapman (Local Controller) Jerry Wrenn (alternate) Trevor Farmer (alternate)
Kapiti District	Tamsin Evans (Local Controller) Wayne Maxwell (alternate) Alison Law (alternate) Scott Dray (alternate)
Hutt City	Clive Phillips (Local Controller) Matt Reid (alternate) Bruce Sherlock (alternate) Lachlan Wallach (alternate) Richard Harbord (alternate) Ian Johnson (alternate)
Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach (Local Controller) Richard Harbord (alternate) Matt Reid (alternate) Ian Johnson (alternate)
Wairarapa	Kevin Tunnell (Local Controller) Mark Allingham (alternate) Jonathan Hooker (alternate) Murray Johnstone (alternate)

Non-statutory appointments:

Recovery Managers		
CDEM Group	Jane Davis Tim Porteous (alternate)	
Wellington City	Greg Orchard Anthony Wilson Paul Andrews Warren Ulusele Danny McComb	
Porirua City	Wendy Walker Chris Lipscombe	

WGN-DOCS#1394140 PAGE 2 OF 3

Kapiti Coast District	Stephen McArthur
	Andrew Guerin
Hutt City	Kim Kelly
Upper Hutt City	Mitch Lewandowski
Wairarapa	Kyra Low(South Wairarapa) Milan Hautler (Carterton)

Lifelines Co-ordination		
CDEM Group	Richard Mowll	

4. Recommendation

That the CDEM Group:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the content of the report.
- 3. *Makes* the following appointments:
 - Neville Brown as Local Controller for Wellington City Council;
 - Jane Hill, Karyn Stillwell, Geoff Swainson and Simon Fleisher as Alternate Local Controllers for Wellington City Council;
 - Greg Orchard, Anthony Wilson, Paul Andrews, and Danny McComb as Recovery Managers for Wellington City Council

Report prepared by:

Bruce Pepperell Regional Manager

WGN-DOCS#1394140 PAGE 3 OF 3