

Report 14.584

Date 28 October 2014 File Z/01/04/19

Committee Civil Defence Emergency Management Group

Author Bruce Pepperell, Regional Manager

# **CDEM Group Appointments**

### 1. Purpose

To request the Wellington CDEM Group to make CDEM Group appointments.

# 2. Background

The CDEM Act (Sections 26 and 27) requires a CDEM Group to appoint, either by name or reference to the holder of an office, a suitably qualified and experienced person to be the Group Controller for its area and to appoint at least one suitably qualified and experienced person to perform the functions and duties, and exercise the powers of the Group Controller if they are absent from duty for any reason. It also states that a CDEM Group may appoint one or more persons to be a Local Controller.

# 3. CDEM Group appointments

The updated list of endorsements and appointments for the Group Controller (and alternates), Group Recovery Managers, Local Controllers (and alternates), Local Recovery Managers and the Group Lifelines Utility Co-ordinator are as follows.

#### **Statutory appointments:**

Controllers			
CDEM Group	Bruce Pepperell (Group Controller)		
	Rian van Schalkwyk (alternate)		
	Ian Gunn (alternate)		
	Craig Hamilton (alternate)		
	Anthony Wilson (alternate)		

WGN-DOCS# PAGE 1 OF 3

Wellington City	Simon Fleisher (Local Controller) Haydn Read (alternate)
	Karyn Stillwell (alternate)
	Geoff Swainson (alternate)
Porirua City	Mike Chapman (Local Controller)
	Jerry Wrenn (alternate)
	Trevor Farmer (alternate)
	Willie Taurima (alternate)
	Helen Brooks (alternate)
Kapiti District	Tamsin Evans (Local Controller)
•	Wayne Maxwell (alternate)
	Scott Dray (alternate)
	Bruce Johnston (alternate)
Hutt City	To be advised (Local Controller)
	Matt Reid (alternate)
	Bruce Sherlock (alternate)
	Lachlan Wallach (alternate)
	Richard Harbord (alternate)
	Ian Johnson (alternate)
Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach (Local Controller)
	Richard Harbord (alternate)
	Matt Reid (alternate)
	Ian Johnson (alternate)
Wairarapa	Kevin Tunnell (Local Controller)
-	Mark Allingham (alternate)
	Jonathan Hooker (alternate)
	Murray Johnstone (alternate)
	Craig Hamilton (alternate)

# **Non-statutory appointments:**

Recovery Managers		
CDEM Group	Jane Davis Tim Porteus (alternate)	
Wellington City	Greg Orchard Anthony Wilson Paul Andrews Warren Ulusele Danny McComb	
Porirua City	Wendy Walker Chris Lipscombe	

WGN-DOCS# PAGE 2 OF 3

Kapiti Coast District	Stephen McArthur Andrew Guerin
Hutt City	Kim Kelly
Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach Andrea Millar
Wairarapa	To be advised (Masterton) Kyra Low(South Wairarapa) Milan Hautler (Carterton)

Lifelines Co-ordination		
CDEM Group	Richard Mowll	

#### 4. Recommendation

*That the CDEM Group:* 

- 1. **Makes** the following appointments:
  - Simon Fleisher as Local Controller for Wellington City Council.
  - Willie Taurima and Helen Brookes as Alternate Local Controllers for Porirua City Council.
  - Bruce Johnston as Alternate Local Controller for Kapiti Coast District Council.
  - Craig Hamilton as Alternate Local Controller for the Wairarapa Councils.
- 2. Removes the following names from the previously approved appointee list:
  - Neville Brown and Jane Hill, Wellington City Council.
  - Alison Law, Kapiti Coast District Council.
  - Roger Gardner, Wairarapa Councils.
  - Clive Phillips, Hutt City Council.

Report	prepared	by:
--------	----------	-----

Bruce Pepperell Regional Manager

WGN-DOCS# PAGE 3 OF 3