Terms of Reference for the Pinehaven Stream Floodplain Management Plan Hearing Panel

November 2015

1. Membership

The membership of the Pinehaven Stream Floodplain Management Plan Hearing Panel comprises:

- Councillor Sandra Greig (GWRC)
- Councillor Ken Laban (GWRC)
- Councillor Paul Swain (GWRC)
- Mayor Wayne Guppy (UHCC)
- Councillor Dean Rabbitt (UHCC)
- Councillor Steve Taylor (UHCC)

Cr Greig is Chairperson of the Panel.

The quorum is two members from Greater Wellington Regional Council and two members from Upper Hutt City Council.

2. Meeting procedures

All members have equal speaking rights and a deliberative vote. In addition, the Chairperson has a casting vote in the case of an equality of votes.

Members must be present for the substantial part of the hearings and deliberations in order to participate in the decision-making of the panel.

Submitters presenting orally at the panel hearing have up to five minutes to present and members will collectively have up to five minutes to ask submitters questions.

3. Powers

The panel has the power to:

- Consider written and oral submissions on the proposed Pinehaven Stream Floodplain Management Plan.
- seek clarification from Council officers on any technical matters; and
- develop recommendations in relation to the Pinehaven Stream Floodplain Management Plan for consideration by the Hutt Valley Flood Management Subcommittee at its meeting on 4 March 2016.

4. Responsibilities

The panel shall ensure that:

• the hearing and consideration process is carried out in a way that is effective and timely;

- submitters are provided with the best possible opportunity to be heard in support of their submission;
- panel members receive submissions with an open mind and give due consideration to each submission; and
- the decision-making process is robust and transparent.

5. Duration of panel

The panel is deemed to be dissolved at the end of the decision-making process on the Pinehaven Stream Floodplain Management Plan.