

Report	16.290
Date	10 June 2016
File	Z/01/04/19
Committee Author	Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Bruce Pepperell, Regional Manager

CDEM Group Appointments

1. Purpose

To request the Wellington CDEM Group to make the following CDEM Group appointments.

2. Background

The CDEM Act (Sections 26 and 27) requires a CDEM Group to appoint, either by name or reference to the holder of an office, a suitably qualified and experienced person to be the Group Controller for its area and to appoint at least one suitably qualified and experienced person to perform the functions and duties, and exercise the powers of the Group Controller if they are absent from duty for any reason. It also states that a CDEM Group may appoint one or more persons to be a Local Controller.

3. CDEM Group appointments

The updated list of endorsements and appointments for the Group Controller (and alternates), Group Recovery Managers, Local Controllers (and alternates), Local Recovery Managers and the Group Lifelines Utility Co-ordinator is proposed as follows.

Controllers	
CDEM Group	Bruce Pepperell (Group Controller)
	Rian van Schalkwyk (alternate)
	Craig Hamilton (alternate)
	Anthony Wilson (alternate)
	Dan Neely (alternate)
	Alistair Allan (alternate)
Wellington City	Simon Fleisher (Local Controller)
	Geoff Swainson (alternate)
	Mark Constable (alternate)
	Steve Cody (alternate)

Statutory appointments:

	Gunther Wild (alternate)
	Dan Neely (alternate)
	Amber Bill (alternate)
	Julian Todd (alternate)
	Toni Thompson (alternate)
Porirua City	Jerry Wrenn (Local Controller)
	Trevor Farmer (alternate)
	Willie Taurima (alternate)
	Helen Brooks (alternate)
Kapiti District	Wayne Maxwell (Local Controller)
•	Scott Dray (alternate)
	Bruce Johnston (alternate)
	Kevin Currie (alternate)
Hutt City	Lester Piggott (Local Controller)
	Matt Reid (alternate)
	Bruce Sherlock (alternate)
	Lachlan Wallach (alternate)
	Rian van Schalkwyk (alternate)
	Dave Jack (alternate)
	Craig Cottrill (alternate)
Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach (Local Controller)
	Richard Harbord (alternate)
	Matt Reid (alternate)
	Ian Johnson (alternate)
Wairarana	Kevin Tunnell (Local Controller)
Wairarapa	Mark Allingham (alternate)
	Jonathan Hooker (alternate)
	Murray Johnstone (alternate)
	Craig Hamilton (alternate)

Non-statutory appointments:

Recovery Managers	
CDEM Group	Luke Troy
	Tim Porteus
Wellington City	Greg Orchard
	Anthony Wilson
	Paul Andrews
	Warren Ulusele
	Danny McComb
Porirua City	Stuart Parkinson

Kapiti Coast District	Stephen McArthur
Hutt City	Kim Kelly
Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach Andrea Millar
Wairarapa	David Hopman (Masterton) Kyra Low (South Wairarapa)

Lifelines Co-ordination		
CDEM Group	Richard Mowll	

4. Comment

Appointments are being made in accordance with the CDEM Act 2002 and the Wellington region Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Plan (2013 - 2018).

5. Communication

No further external communication is required.

6. The decision-making process and significance

The matter requiring decision in this report has been considered by officers against the requirements of Part 6 of the Local Government Act 2002.

6.1 Significance of the decision

Officers have considered the significance of the matter, taking into account the Council's significance policy and decision-making guidelines. Owing to the procedural nature of this decision officers recommend that the matter be considered to have low significance.

Officers do not consider that a formal record outlining consideration of the decision-making process is required in this instance.

6.2 Engagement

Due to its procedural nature and low significance, no engagement on this matter has been undertaken.

7. Recommendations

That the CDEM Group:

- 1. **Receives** the report.
- 2. Notes the content of the report.
- 3. Approves the following appointments:

- a. Amber Bill, Alternate Local Controller, Wellington City Council;
- b. Julian Todd, Alternate Local Controller, Wellington City Council; and,
- c. Toni Thompson, Alternate Local Controller, Wellington City Council
- 4. **Remove** the following names from the previously approved statutory appointee list:
 - a. Ian Gunn, CDEM Group; and,
 - b. Karyn Stillwell, Wellington City Council

Report prepared by:

Bruce Pepperell Regional Manager